Roy Glauber

Awarded for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence.



Joseph Rotblat**

Awarded for their efforts to diminish the part played by nuclear arms in international politics and, in the longer run, to eliminate such arms.



Frederick Reines

Awarded for the detection of the neutrino and for pioneering experimental contributions to lepton physics.



Norman Ramsey

Awarded for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks.



Val Fitch

Awarded for the discovery of violations of fundamental symmetry principles in the decay of neutral K-mesons.



Aage Bohr

Awarded for the discovery of the connection between collective motion and particle motion in atomic nuclei and the development of the theory of the structure of the atomic nucleus based on this connection.



Luis Alvarez

Awarded for his decisive contributions to elementary particle physics, in particular the discovery of a large number of resonance states, made possible through his development of the technique of using hydrogen bubble chamber and data analysis.



Hans Bethe

Awarded for his contributions to the theory of nuclear reactions, especially his discoveries concerning the energy production in stars.



Richard Feynman

Awarded for their fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics (QED), with deep-ploughing consequences for the physics of elementary particles.



Maria Goeppert-Mayer

Awarded for their discoveries concerning nuclear shell structure.



Emilio Segre & Owen Chamberlain

Awarded for their discovery of the antiproton.



Felix Bloch

Awarded for their development of new methods for nuclear magnetic precision measurements and discoveries in connection therewith.



Edwin McMillan*

Awarded for their discoveries in the chemistry of the transuranium elements.



I.I. Rabi

Awarded for his resonance method for recording the magnetic properties of atomic nuclei.



Enrico Fermi

Awarded for his demonstrations of the existence of new radioactive elements produced by neutron irradiation, and for his related discovery of nuclear reactions brought about by slow neutrons.



Sir James Chadwick

Awarded for the discovery of the neutron.



Niels Bohr

Awarded for his services in the investigation of the structure of atoms and of the radiation emanating from them.